

## BOARD OF VISITORS EMERGENCY MEETING ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM July 30, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS –** Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi Sarah Bishop Sharon Goodwyn W. Ashton Lewis Dr. Bruce Waldholtz Dr. Marcus Martin Dr. Alan Wagner Tina Mohr Dr. Naved Jafri Chester Hart

### **Board Members Absent**

Paul Fraim Dr. Fred Lindsay T. Richard Litton Phillip Hucles

## **OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT**

Richard Homan, MD	President and Provost, Participated via Bluejeans
Brant M. Cox	Vice President and COO, Burroughs Boardroom
Stacy Purcell	Vice President and General Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans
Tracy Morton	Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom
Helen Heselius	Associate V.P., Finance, Burroughs Boardroom
Vincent Rhodes	Assistant V.P., Marketing & Communications, Burroughs Boardroom

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened the meeting at 9:05AM after noting a quorum was present. This meeting will be held in both open and closed session. The open session is being streamed via YouTube and recorded.

The Rector announced it would be necessary to hold a closed session as permitted under Code of Virginia, Section 2.2-3711 (A) (5) and (22) to discuss prospective business expansion and specific proprietary, business-related information pertaining to the operations and finances of EVMS.

Accordingly, upon a motion made and seconded, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the open session and convene the closed session. All approvals were obtained by roll call vote



from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 9:08 AM.

*Tracy Morton* Assistant Secretary



## BOARD OF VISITORS CLOSED SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM July 30, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS –** Participated via Bluejeans

#### **Board Members Absent**

Dr. Theresa Emory Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi Sarah Bishop Sharon Goodwyn W. Ashton Lewis Dr. Bruce Waldholtz Dr. Marcus Martin Dr. Alan Wagner Tina Mohr Dr. Naved Jafri Chester Hart Paul Fraim Dr. Fred Lindsay T. Richard Litton Phillip Hucles

### **OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT**

Richard Homan, MD	President and Provost, Participated via Bluejeans
Brant M. Cox	Vice President and COO, Burroughs Boardroom
Stacy Purcell	Vice President and General Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans
Tracy Morton	Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom
Helen Heselius	Associate V.P., Finance, Burroughs Boardroom
Vincent Rhodes	Assistant V.P., Marketing & Communications, Burroughs Boardroom

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this closed session at 9:08AM. The closed session was convened in order for the Board to discuss prospective business expansion and specific proprietary, business-related information pertaining to the operations and finances of EVMS.

The closed session adjourned at 9:37 AM.

Tracy Morton Asst. Secretary



## BOARD OF VISITORS RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM July 30, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS –** Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi Sarah Bishop Sharon Goodwyn W. Ashton Lewis Dr. Bruce Waldholtz Dr. Marcus Martin Dr. Alan Wagner Tina Mohr Dr. Naved Jafri Chester Hart

### **Board Members Absent**

Paul Fraim Dr. Fred Lindsay T. Richard Litton Phillip Hucles

### **OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT**

Richard Homan, MD	President and Provost, Participated via Bluejeans
Brant M. Cox	Vice President and COO, Burroughs Boardroom
Stacy Purcell	Vice President and General Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans
Tracy Morton	Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom
Helen Heselius	Associate V.P., Finance, Burroughs Boardroom
Vincent Rhodes	Assistant V.P., Marketing & Communications, Burroughs Boardroom

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this return to regular session at 9:39 AM.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board certified by roll call vote that to the best of their knowledge, only such matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed and considered by the Board. The roll call vote was unanimous and from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz.



Dr. Emory called for a motion to authorize the management of EVMS to participate in the engagement of Manatt Health Strategies, LLC with the Commonwealth of Virginia, Sentara Healthcare, and Old Dominion University to explore opportunities and strategies to strengthen the Hampton Roads healthcare ecosystem, economic growth in the region, and the increased funding and long term financial sustainability of EVMS.

**RESOLVED,** that the Board of Visitors of EVMS hereby authorize the management of EVMS to participate in the engagement of Manatt Health Strategies, LLC with the Commonwealth of Virginia, Sentara Healthcare and Old Dominion University.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board voted to adopt the resolution as presented by roll call vote from the following: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz. The vote was unanimous.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 9:40 AM.

*Tracy Morton* Asst. Secretary