

# BOARD OF VISITORS MEETING OPEN SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 7, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

**Board Members Absent** 

Dr. Fred Lindsay

#### **BOARD MEMBERS** – Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi (joined late)

Sarah Bishop

Sharon Goodwyn

W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz

Dr. Marcus Martin

Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr (joined late)

Dr. Naved Jafri

Chester Hart (departed early)

Paul Fraim

T. Richard Litton (departed early)

Phillip Hucles

Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

### OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT

Richard Homan, MD President and Provost, Burroughs Boardroom

Stacy Purcell Vice President and General Counsel, Burroughs Boardroom

Tracy Morton Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom

David Burton EVMS Outside Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened the meeting at 4:01pm after noting a quorum was present. This meeting will be held in both open and closed session. The open session is being streamed and recorded.

Request for Closed Session as permitted under Code of Virginia 2.2-3711 (A) (1) personnel actions and (22) proprietary business related information pertaining to the operations of EVMS.



Accordingly, upon a motion made and seconded, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the open session and convene the closed session. All approvals were obtained by roll call vote from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Dr. Theresa Emory, Mr. Paul Fraim, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz, Mr. Chester Hart, Mr. T. Richard Litton, Jr., Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Mr. Phillip Hucles, Dr. Betty Bibbins, Ms. Blythe Scott.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 4:03pm.

Tracy Morton
Assistant Secretary
EVMS Board of Visitors



## BOARD OF VISITORS CLOSED SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 7, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

#### BOARD MEMBERS - Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi (joined late)

Sarah Bishop

Sharon Goodwyn

W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz

Dr. Marcus Martin

Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr (joined late)

Dr. Naved Jafri

Chester Hart (departed early)

Paul Fraim

T. Richard Litton (departed early)

Phillip Hucles

Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

#### **Board Members Absent**

Dr. Fred Lindsay

#### **OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT**

David Burton EVMS Outside Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this closed session at 4:04pm. The closed session was convened in order for the Board to discuss personnel actions and proprietary business related information pertaining to the operations of EVMS.

The closed session adjourned at 5:34pm.

Tracy Morton
Assistant Secretary
EVMS Board of Visitors



# BOARD OF VISITORS RETURN TO OPEN SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 7, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

## BOARD MEMBERS - Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi (joined late)

Sarah Bishop

Sharon Goodwyn

W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz

Dr. Marcus Martin

Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr (joined late)

Dr. Naved Jafri

Chester Hart (departed early)

Paul Fraim

T. Richard Litton (departed early)

Phillip Hucles

Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

# **Board Members Absent**

Dr. Fred Lindsay

## **OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT**

Stacy Purcell Vice President and General Counsel, Burroughs Boardroom David Burton EVMS Outside Counsel, *Participated via Bluejeans* 

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this return to regular session at 5:34pm.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board certified by roll call vote that to the best of their knowledge, only such matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed and considered by the Board. The roll call vote was unanimous and from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Dr. Theresa Emory, Mr. Paul Fraim, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz, Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Mr. Phillip Hucles, Dr. Betty Bibbins, and Ms. Blythe Scott.



The Rector asked for a motion to approve the naming of the Institute for Integrated NeuroHealth as "The Lawrence J. Goldrich Institute for Integrated NeuroHealth."

**RESOLVED**, that upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board of Visitors approved the naming of the Institute for Integrated NeuroHealth as "The Lawrence J. Goldrich Institute for Integrated NeuroHealth"

The approval was obtained by roll call vote from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Dr. Theresa Emory, Mr. Paul Fraim, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Dr. Bruce Waldholtz, Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Mr. Phillip Hucles, Dr. Betty Bibbins, and Ms. Blythe Scott.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 5:38pm.

Tracy Morton
Assistant Secretary
EVMS Board of Visitors