

BOARD OF VISITORS MEETING OPEN SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 26, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

BOARD MEMBERS – Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi

Sarah Bishop

Sharon Goodwyn

W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz (departed early)

Dr. Marcus Martin

Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr

Dr. Naved Jafri

Chester Hart

T. Richard Litton

Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

Board Members Absent

Dr. Fred Lindsay Phillip Hucles Paul Fraim

OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT

Richard Homan, MD President and Provost, Burroughs Boardroom

Brant Cox Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Burroughs Boardroom

Stacy Purcell Vice President and General Counsel, Burroughs Boardroom

Tracy Morton
Tom Enders
Daryl Kirch, MD
Jared Augenstein
Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom
Manatt Consulting, participated via Bluejeans
Manatt Consulting, participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened the meeting at 12:02pm after noting a quorum was present. This meeting will be held in both open and closed session. The open session is being live-streamed and recorded.

The Rector asked for a motion from the Board to go into Closed Session as permitted under Code of Virginia 2.2-3711 (A) (1) personnel actions and (22) proprietary business related information pertaining to the operations of EVMS.



Accordingly, upon a motion made and seconded, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the open session and convene the closed session. All approvals were obtained by roll call vote from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Mr. T. Richard Litton, Jr., Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Betty Bibbins, and Ms. Blythe Scott.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:05pm.

Tracy Morton

Assistant Secretary

EVMS Board of Visitors



BOARD OF VISITORS CLOSED SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 26, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

BOARD MEMBERS – Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi

Sarah Bishop Sharon Goodwyn W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz (departed early)

Dr. Marcus Martin Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr

Dr. Naved Jafri Chester Hart

T. Richard Litton Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

Board Members Absent

Dr. Fred Lindsay Phillip Hucles Paul Fraim

OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT

David Burton EVMS Outside Counsel, *Participated via Bluejeans* Richard Homan, MD President and Provost, *Burroughs Boardroom*

Brant Cox Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Burroughs Boardroom

Stacy Purcell Vice President and General Counsel, Burroughs Boardroom

Tracy Morton
Tom Enders
Daryl Kirch, MD
Jared Augenstein
Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom
Manatt Consulting, participated via Bluejeans
Manatt Consulting, participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this closed session at 12:06pm. The closed session was convened in order for the Board to discuss personnel actions and proprietary business related information pertaining to the operations of EVMS.

The closed session adjourned at 1:45pm.

Tracy Morton
Assistant Secretary
EVMS Board of Visitors



BOARD OF VISITORS RETURN TO OPEN SESSION ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA BLUEJEANS VIDEOCONFERENCING PLATFORM October 26, 2020

Meeting held by electronic communication means in accordance with Va. Code § 2.2-3708.2, Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly, and Governor Northam's Executive Order 51 dated March 12, 2020.

BOARD MEMBERS - Participated via Bluejeans

Dr. Theresa Emory

Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi

Sarah Bishop

Sharon Goodwyn

W. Ashton Lewis

Dr. Bruce Waldholtz (departed early)

Dr. Marcus Martin

Dr. Alan Wagner

Tina Mohr

Dr. Naved Jafri

Chester Hart

T. Richard Litton

Dr. Betty Bibbins

Blythe Scott

Board Members Absent

Dr. Fred Lindsay Phillip Hucles Paul Fraim

OFFICERS AND STAFF PRESENT

Stacy Purcell Vice President and General Counsel, Burroughs Boardroom

David Burton EVMS Outside Counsel, Participated via Bluejeans

Tracy Morton Assistant Secretary, Burroughs Boardroom

Dr. Theresa Emory, Rector, opened this return to regular session at 1:45pm.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board certified by roll call vote that to the best of their knowledge, only such matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed and considered by the Board. The roll call vote was unanimous and from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Mr. T. Richard Litton, Jr., Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Betty Bibbins, and Ms. Blythe Scott.



The Rector asked for a motion to delegate the authority to the President to enter into employment agreements with members of senior administration pursuant to the terms and conditions discussed during closed session and to implement the continuation of employment of Richard V. Homan, MD, as President, Provost and Dean of the School of Medicine, according to the terms and conditions discussed and for the appropriate documentation to be prepared.

RESOLVED, that upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board of Visitors approved to delegate authority to the President to enter into employment agreements with members of senior administration pursuant to the terms and conditions discussed during closed session and to implement the continuation of employment of Richard V. Homan, MD, as President, Provost and Dean of the School of Medicine, according to the terms and conditions discussed and for the appropriate documentation to be prepared.

The approval was obtained by roll call vote from the following board members: Dr. Naveed Jafri, Rear Admiral Robert Bianchi, Ms. Sarah Bishop, Ms. Tina Mohr, Dr. Theresa Emory, Ms. Sharon Goodwyn, Mr. Ashton Lewis, Mr. Chester Hart, Mr. T. Richard Litton, Jr., Dr. Marcus Martin, Dr. Alan Wagner, Dr. Betty Bibbins, and Ms. Blythe Scott.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 1:48pm.

Tracy Morton
Assistant Secretary
EVMS Board of Visitors